Emeritus Membership Award

Each year, the MAC Membership Committee solicits nominations for candidates to the status of Emeritus Member. The Emeritus Membership Award and the special status of Emeritus Member were created to recognize those who have contributed to the success, growth, and visibility of MAC through committee work, programming, outreach, and governance. Nominees have retired from paid archival work and have been MAC members for at least 10, not necessarily consecutive, years. More important, nominees have made significant and substantial contributions to MAC during their archival careers. On April 5, during the Annual Meeting in Detroit, Barbara Floyd was nominated by Lauren White and awarded Emeritus Membership.

Barbara Floyd earned her BA, MA, and MPA all from the University of Toledo. She has been a MAC member since 1984 and dedicated her entire career to archives and history in the Midwest. Her career began at the Ohio Historical Society where she worked from 1982 to 1986, first in the Manuscripts Department and then as a local records specialist in the State Archives Division. Floyd then joined the University of Toledo where she would spend the remainder of her career, first as university archivist from 1986 to 2002 and then as director of the Ward M. Canaday Center for Special Collections until her retirement in 2017. Floyd has served MAC in a variety of capacities: chair of the Archival Issues Editorial Board, 2011–2014; member of the Archival Issues Editorial Board, 2008-2010; member of the Program Committee, 2002 Spring Meeting; chair of the Education Committee, 1994-1996; cochair of the Program Committee, 1994 Spring Meeting; MAC secretary, 1996-2001; not to mention several presentations and session chairs at MAC Annual Meetings.

Presidents' Award

The MAC Presidents' Award was established in 1986 and is dedicated to recognizing significant contributions to the archival profession by individuals, institutions, and organizations that are not directly involved in archival work but are knowledgeable about its purpose and value. The Presidents' Award committee is comprised of one representative from each MAC state and MAC's three most recent past presidents. This year's winner of the MAC Presidents' Award is Arthur M. Horwitz, publisher and executive editor of the Detroit Jewish News; president of Renaissance Media, LLC; and founder/president of the Detroit Jewish News Foundation. Horwitz was nominated by Michael Smith, Johanna Meijer Magoon Principle Archivist at the Bentley Historical Library, for his leadership and dedication to the cause of preserving Jewish history. As Smith notes in the nomination, Horwitz "has been the leader and inspiration for the development and establishment of a tremendous archival asset—an online, word-searchable, open-source database of over 330,000 pages from the Detroit Jewish News and its predecessor publication, the Detroit Jewish Chronicle, 1916-2017." Because of Arthur Horwitz's foresight and dedication, one of the leading archives for English-Jewish publications is now a permanent resource at the Bentley Historical Library and a substantial asset to Michigan's archival and research communities.