Treasurer's Report

Fall 2018 Council Meeting Iowa City, lowa, October 11, 2018

By Colleen McFarland Rademaker, Treasurer, Corning Museum of Glass

2018 Budget Update

Both spending and income are up this year, largely on account of the broken hotel contract for the 2018 Annual Meeting in Chicago. Expenses yet to be added to the 2018 balance sheet include all costs of the 2018 Fall Symposium (~\$3,200), graphic designer's fees for work completed since April (~\$1,500), and our 2019 insurance premium (~\$500). Additionally, a miscommunication during the transition between treasurers resulted in no student annual meeting scholarship awards being paid. Donations of \$376 were collected for the student scholarship in 2017 and should be disbursed before the end of 2018. I am cautiously optimistic that membership revenue will be strong enough to keep within range of the projected \$6,649.34 deficit.

2019 Budget

I've added the annual 3 percent AMC increase into the budget and adjusted various other categories to reflect actual income and spending in recent years. Despite the dues increase passed earlier this year, I have not budgeted for a dues revenue increase because of the last-minute decision to lower the new student membership rate to \$20. The proposed budget includes a deficit of nearly \$12,000, which is not ideal. I would welcome Council's advice in crafting a more balanced budget.

Between-Meeting Council Actions

On July 12, 2018, Council unanimously approved Fargo, ND/Moorhead, MN, as the site of the 2019 MAC Fall Symposium. Lisa Sjoberg abstained.

2019 Slate of Candidates

The Nominating Committee presents the following MAC members who are running for MAC office.

President ☐ Anke Voss, Urbana Free Library ☐ Erik Moore, University of Minnesota **Secretary** ☐ Jennie Thomas, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame ☐ Mary Ellen Ducey, University of Nebraska-Lincoln **Council (2 positions)** ☐ Katie Blank, Marquette University ☐ Elise Fariello, National Archives at Chicago ☐ Benn Joseph, Northwestern University ☐ Daria Labinsky, Jimmy Carter Library and Museum **Nominating Committee (2 positions)** ☐ Cynthia Ghering, Michigan State University ☐ William Modrow, Miami University (OH)

☐ Matthew Strandmark, University of Kentucky

☐ Letha Johnson, University of Kansas